By Jennifer Burrini ’10

street view of the Marquis Theatre in NYC

“So, you’ve been tellin’ everybody I’ve been sleepin’ with ya, huh?…They think I’m screwin’ the boss! Oooh, and you just love it, don’t you?  If you…make another indecent proposal…I’m gonna change you from a rooster to a hen with one shot!”

It’s been years since I first heard Dolly Parton deliver those thick Southern accented lines to her “sexist, egotistical, lying, hypocritical bigot” boss in the movie 9 to 5.  And I’ve been enamored by the movie ever since.

So imagine my excitement when I learned the 1980 film (originally starring Parton, Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, and Dabney Coleman) was getting a Broadway makeover.

This spring the 9 to 5 stage adaptation premiered at The Marquis Theatre.  New music and lyrics were penned by Parton.  The cast included theatre elite Allison Janey, Stephanie J. Block, Megan Hilty, and Marc Kusisch.  Elaborate set designs emerged from behind the stage curtain.  Fresh dialogue and flawless choreography were introduced.  9 to 5 the Musical was open for business.

The plot centers around three female secretaries who fight back against their chauvinistic boss.  The use of humor to confront the issues of sexism, divorce, and  workplace woes makes 9 to 5 the perfect blend of entertainment and poignancy.

Although I don’t necessarily recommend the ladies’ plan of attack against their boss (they kidnap and blackmail him!), I do think 9 to 5 is an excellent reason to take a trip to NYC.  Fusing together issues of inequalities with musical numbers and shoulder pads is probably no easy task.  And yet from my seat in the audience it appeared effortless.

Take a look at my favorite moment; it involves a rooster reference, a snake in a suit, and a country girl with sky high stilettos and even higher hair.

Want more?  Check out their website for more details about the show and cast.

Or you can follow the office drama by becoming a 9 to 5 fan on Facebook (I am!).

Unfortunately, 9 to 5 gets the pink slip from Broadway this September so tickets should be bought ASAP.

Wondering what musicals are hitting the Philly theatre circuit in the upcoming months?  Find them on the Theatre Alliance’s website.